The 5 Stages Of Bruce Tuckman’s Group Development Theory

Get crystal-clear insights into what your team members do with their time and see which team members are overworked, and which ones can take on more. Of course, you may still think that your tech guy’s choice in music is obnoxious. But, you also admire his knowledge of web design and coding skills, and value his opinions on anything tech-related. Members might disagree over how to complete a task or voice their concerns if they feel that someone isn’t pulling their weight.

stages of team development tuckman

As you can see in the chart below, team effectiveness and performance can fluctuate as the team develops. It’s important to note that the journey through the model will be different for every team. Tuckman’s model contains five stages, which development operations are Forming, Storming, Norming, Performing and Adjourning. The last Adjourning stage was not in the original model, but was instead added several years afterwards. Node.js is one of the most reliable software to scale a growing business.

Navigating The performing Stage

Everyone is contributing and working as a cohesive unit. In the performing stage, consensus and cooperation have been well-established and the team is mature, organized, and well-functioning. There is a clear and stable structure, and members are committed to the team’s mission. Problems and conflicts still emerge, but they are dealt with constructively. The team is focused on problem solving and meeting team goals. The forming stage involves a period of orientation and getting acquainted.

Stage 3: Norming

And at the same time, team members may feel a sense of deep satisfaction at the accomplishments of the team. Individual members might feel all of these things at the same time, or stages of team development tuckman may cycle through feelings of loss followed by feelings of satisfaction. Given these conflicting feelings, individual and team morale may rise or fall throughout the ending stage.

The team’s productivity should be increasing and perhaps friendships in the group are being formed. The team roles become more fluid as the group members work more cohesively as a single unit. You will know your team has entered the norming stage when small conflicts occur less frequently and team members find ways to work together despite differences. Twelve years later, in collaboration with Mary Ann Jensen, he expanded the theory to include a fifth stage, which took into account the disbanding of the team once it reached its goals. Tuckman’s first of five stages begins with “Forming” in this stage the group is essentially starting up, or meeting for the first time. Forming is explained to be somewhat of a honeymoon stage in which members are fairly polite, individualized, and often very much excited about what is yet to come.


Tuckman added this last stage 10 years after his first publications. This is the time to celebrate your success, and take stock of what didn’t work and how your team changed. Just looking at the name, you can get an idea of what this stage is about. This is the time for tensions, conflicts, and competition.

Useful Tips On Tuckmans Stages Of Group Development

Team autonomy is what happens in the Performing stage ✨. They understand the needs of the group, know its objectives and how to achieve them. The team leader takes the role of the curator, stepping aside and giving more freedom of action to the team.

What are the 5 stages of developing a team?

The 5 stages of team development are based on “Tuckman’s Stages,” published in 1965. The product of Bruce Tuckman’s group development and team dynamics research, the five stages of team development are: Forming, Storming, Norming, Performing, Adjourning.

When members disagree about something, listen to each side. If everyone in your group thinks and acts the same, then why do you have a group? stages of team development tuckman The benefit of working in a team is that you have access to diverse experiences, skills, and opinions that aren’t possible alone.

Set A Clear Purpose And Mission And Revisit It Throughout The Process

The team leader needs to be adept at facilitating the team through this stage – ensuring the team members learn to listen to each other and respect their differences and ideas. This includes not allowing any one team member to control all conversations and facilitate contributions from all members of the team. The team leader will need to coach some team members to be more assertive and other team members on how to be more effective listeners. Every team goes through the five stages of team development. The first four stages of team growth were first developed by Bruce Wayne Tuckman and published in 1965.

What are the five stages of team development in healthcare?

Describe each stage and how that might appear in a healthcare setting. Stages of Team Development are forming, storming, norming, performing, and adjourning. Forming is when a group of people come together to accomplish goal. They have to learn each, take into their experiences and clarity their goal.


Leave a Reply